The Menard County Historical Society meets on the second Wednesday of each month at its office, located on the southwest corner of the square in Petersburg, IL.  Meetings start at 5:30 pm and are open to the public.

a little bit about us

Our Founding Directors and Officers

Organization Date April 1, 1965

Sam Blane

Mrs. Margaret Ennenga

J. Kennedy Kincaid Sr.

Daniel D. Austin

Ernest Primm

Richard Stout

Mrs. Louise Basso

Mrs. Dorothy Dodson

Harold Mott

Ira E. Owens-President

Evert Tice-Vice President

Emery Irwin

Mrs. Frances Culver-Secretary

Miss Margaret Schirding-Treasurer

S.L. Shaw

board members

We welcome you to join the not-for-profit Historical Society.  Dues help support the operating expenses of keeping the museum open and continuing to obtain and preserve our rich heritage.  Annual dues are as follows:

Basic - $10 per year

Business - $25

Couple - $15

Lifetime - $100

Please make checks payable to: Menard County Historical Society and sent to 125 S. Seventh Street, Petersburg, IL 62675.

The Menard County Historical Society has as its purpose, to bring together people interested in history, especially the history of Menard County, Illinois.  Our major purpose is to discover, preserve and collect material whether it be oral, printed, written or any other material and share it with our fellow history lovers.

board meetings

Board Members

LuAnn DeRocchi, President

​Sue Elliott, Vice President

Pat Schlobohm, Secretary

Mary Jane O'Hara, Treasurer (appointed)

Kathy Olesen

Cathie Smith

Mary Kerr

Mary Pat Cline

Donna Hitchcock

Steve Ozella

Carol Mueller

Mary Jane Hurie

Terry Jones

Bob TeRonde

Jim Todd

Kim Perez

Menard County

Historical Society

Join us - Memberships